Restaurant Review { Kafein }

One of my favorite things to do is to sit at a quaint little coffee shop and get some work done, read a good magazine (or be a creeper and do some people-watching). Although I love Starbucks and Second Cup, non-commercialized coffee shops can offer a different variety of coffees and menu. Kafein is one of those coffee shops that are a must. From great coffee to great food, to a cozy décor, this place is amazing.

There are two floors in Kafein. Upstairs you will find the counter and menu on blackboards, as well as tables and chairs. In the basement, there are a few couches, a long table with comfy chairs, and a bar. At night, the basement has a lounge vibe with a DJ, dim lights and a cool vibe – a great place to go for drinks and hang out with friends too!

Even though I am not a regular coffee drinker, I appreciate and know a good cup of coffee, which is precisely what you will find at Kafein. The latte is so delicious and frothy; the mocha is rich and tasty. There are also some desserts that I have yet to try, including a brownie, carrot cake, muffins and even milkshakes. You can also buy food, which I highly recommend. The sandwiches are AMAZING. I’ve had the chicken sandwich, as well as the salmon and my favorite, the Halumi. I didn’t know I could find this tasty cheese in Montreal until I found it at Kafein and wow, so glad I did. I tasted it for the first time in Israel and was excited when I found it on the menu at Kafein. It’s basically a thick cheese that’s deep-fried with some kind of buttery garlic coating. Heaven. You HAVE to try it! The sandwiches come with chips and a bit of coleslaw, which I appreciate because it makes for a filling meal. And don’t forget the freshly squeezed lemonade, with or without raspberries is up to you!

The service has always been efficient. You place your order at the counter upstairs and you get a number that you place on your table. You can go sit and continue your work and your order is brought to your table. Everyone is a friendly and pleasant.

I’ve always had a good experience at Kafein and really recommend it. It’s become a frequent study location, but is also great to hang out. It’s also open late during the week, so a great place for some late night studying or a good midnight snack.

1429 Bishop Street, Montreal

(514) 904.6969

Hours

M – Thurs. 9 AM to 1 AM

F – 9 AM to 3 AM

Sat. – 12 PM to 3 AM

Sun. – 12 PM to 6 PM

Image

{ The basement has a vintage feel with old wooden furniture }

Image

{ Sandwiches are served in a basket with chips & coleslaw }

Image{ Smoked salmon sandwich }

Image{ Haloumi sandwich }

Image{ I tried getting a close-up of the haloumi sandwich but it was difficult with the dim lighting }Image

{ For those of who you have never had haloumi, I had this picture from my trip to Israel. Behold…haloumi cheese. Deep fried goodness }

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

