Recipe { Guilt-Free ‘ice cream’ }

I have a dilemma: I like to eat healthy…but I love ice cream. I still have vivid childhood memories of going to the ice cream parlor with my sisters and parents, and then crawling into my dad’s lap after I finished my cone because I would always get cold.

In the last few months though, I have been changing my lifestyle and trying to eat as clean as possible, which entails reducing my sugar and dairy intake…see the dilemma? When I saw this recipe on Rosie’s blog, I had to try it, and I am so happy with the results and excited to have a new sweet treat to satisfy my next craving.

You can whip up this recipe in less than 15 minutes, it is guilt-free because the ingredients are relatively healthy (in moderation), but most importantly, it’s DELICIOUS! Even my dad and sister, who are both ice cream crazed like I am, were really surprised at how good this ‘ice cream’ tasted!

I chose to serve the ‘ice cream’ with fresh strawberries and lightly roasted almonds slivers. You can eat it without any toppings, or add whatever you like.

This recipe yields about 3-4 portions:

  • 3 frozenbananas
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter
  • 3 tbsp non-sweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tbsp honey/agave

Blend all the ingredients (I used a hand blender), making sure everything has mixed well (especially the peanut butter, it can easily clump up), and serve! The bananas do soften a little from the blending, so you can put it back in the freezer for a few minutes to harden. ImageImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

