Recipe { Chocolate Almond Cookies }

I get excited when I find healthier versions of sweet treats because I can allow myself a guilt-free dessert, and I’ve been lucky to find recipes that don’t sacrifice any taste!

I whipped up this batch of chocolate almond cookies when my aunt came to visit and we had a hard time controlling ourselves because they were so delicious. Half of the cookies were gone within the hour of coming out of the oven!

I got the recipe from the lovely Pastry Affair. If you’re not following her blog yet, it’s an absolute must: her writing is poetic, her pictures are beautiful, and her recipes are inspiring!

  • 1 cup creamy almond butter
  • 2/3 cup sugar (I substituted with honey)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • ¼ cup chocolate chips

Instructions

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350˚F (180˚C).
  2. In a medium mixing bowl, combine almond butter and sugar until smooth.
  3. Add the egg, vanilla, baking soda, and salt. Mix until combined.
  4. Stir in chocolate chips.
  5. Use a tablespoon to create round and even balls of dough, lined on a baking sheet.
  6. Bake for 10-12 minutes.
  7. Cool for 5-10 minutes before removing the cookies from the baking sheet.

[ N.B. if you haven’t noticed from the pictures below, I *might* have forgotten to put the chocolate chips INSIDE the dough…the cookie was actually delicious without the chocolate but I’m a chocoholic so to me, everything is better with chocolate in it. ]

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

12 thoughts on “Recipe { Chocolate Almond Cookies }

Leave a Reply

