Recipe { Pumpkin Scones }

After making my healthy pumpkin muffins, I still had pumpkin puree left over. I had seen this recipe of Julie’s blog when she published and had bookmarked it, so this was the perfect excuse to try it. The recipe was so good that I just might make another batch with the remainder of the puree. Fall isn’t over yet and pumpkin treats are perfect for the current weather (with a cup of hot chocolate of course!)

A few things that I did differently:

  • The butter that I used was actually melted, and the scones seemed to have retained their flakiness. Although I wouldn’t recommend doing this, don’t fret if your butter is not chilled like the recipe instructs.
  • I used one cup of white flour and one cup of whole-wheat flour to make a bit healthier and I couldn’t even tell there was whole-wheat flour in it.
  • I don’t usually have cream at home and I actually only had almond milk, which seemed to have worked out fine…and it makes me healthier too.
  • For the glaze, I used Stonewall Kitchen’s pumpkin caramel, which worked perfectly to add a touch of sweetness to the scones.
  • I didn’t have all the spices to make pumpkin spice, so I just used ¾ tablespoon cinnamon and ¼ tablespoon ground cloves.
  • I don’t have a food processor either so I combined the butter and dry ingredients by hand, making sure that I ‘squished’ the butter between my fingers (a little trick I learned by watching Anna Olsen on the Food Network). I also used my hands to combine the pumpkin mixture with the dry ingredients by folding over the mixture until combined. This means that you grab large amounts of mixture at the same time and simply…fold it over onto the rest of the mixture and so on and so forth until it is fully combined!

…coming to think of it, maybe next time I should follow the recipe and it’ll turn out even more delicious…?

ImageImageImageImageImage

2 thoughts on “Recipe { Pumpkin Scones }

Leave a Reply

