Christmas Gift Idea for Her { Custom Birchbox }

I have to admit, I’m a bit (a lot…) spoiled by my boyfriend. Beyond his qualities as a person and how amazing he has been with me, he really spoils me… a lot. And he comes up with the most creative gifts – so I can’t take much credit for this blog post other than the pictures and the writing, because the brains behind it all were really him. But I thought I would share this for any gentlemen out there looking for a unique Christmas gift or even birthday gift.

If you don’t know what a Birchbox is (or Ipsy bags, or Luxe Box…there are tons others), they are a subscription service where you pay a monthly fee and receive, each month, a bag of goodies. In this case, it’s make-up.

Because he wasn’t able to get me an Ipsy subscription as a birthday gift, he decided to go ahead and make a custom box for me. The things he put in the boxes were tailored to what I like and what he knew that I’d been wanting for a while. But the general idea is to just get a few items that you think your lady would like, put it in a box, and voila! This can even be a good gift for your best friend, sister or even Mom!

There are SO many things you can get, it all depends on what she likes and your budget. It can be high-end cosmetics or can just as well be drugstore finds. The trick is to listen to her when she whines about wanting something and jotting it down, and another trick (via le boyfriend) is to just ASK a salesperson when you go to a store; they will be more than happy to suggest things that would be fun to add in!

Like I said, I know that I was quite spoiled, and these were intended to be two boxes, one opened at my birthday and one a month later, but I was just way too excited and impatient to wait a MONTH to open the second box. I think that no matter what is in the box, girls will just appreciate the thoughtfulness that comes with the gift. And feel free to use your imagination and add in other things that you think your lady would like! A candle, favorite chocolates, a movie, anything would really do it. But the idea of this particular box was to make a custom Birchbox for moi…(thank you my love <3)

Image

{ The box is from Sephora and can be used for storage! }

Image

{ There are SO many things that you could get to fill up the box. Be creative! }

Image

{ Look for some unique touches like this special Christmas edition of small OPI nail polishes from the Mariah Carey line – things that you know the person will enjoy! }

Image

{ NAILS – always an easy one – Cuticle balm || Modern Family special edition polish in ‘Candid Cameron’ || Quo nail polish remover pads || Formula X for Sephora nail appliques || Formula X for Sephora nail polish in ‘Meteroic’ || OPO in ‘La Paz-itively Hot’ || Quo nail file || Essie nail applique in ‘glam it on’ || Mariah Carey for OPI Liquid Sand in ‘Emotions’, ‘It’s Frosty Outside’ and ‘Kiss me at Midnight’

Image

{ Nail appliques }

Image

{ Easy extras to throw in. Sephora is great getting samples like these perfumes that they throw in at the cash register when you are buying your goodies }

Image

{ Great basic make-up needed in every girl’s bag! }

Image

{ Naked ‘Basics’ by Urban Decay – This is a really good pallet to have! Been using it so much since I got it!! }

Image

{ Naked ‘Flushed’ by Urban Decay – another great pallet that has three-in-one with a bronzer, highlighter and blush }

Image

{ Another great basics to have by NARS. A duo with bronzer & blush }

8 thoughts on “Christmas Gift Idea for Her { Custom Birchbox }

  1. Pingback: Mani-Monday { Black Sand } |

  2. Pingback: Mani-Monday { Pink & Silver Glitter } |

Leave a Reply

