Restaurant Review { Green Panther }

Even though I do love a good burger, I don’t eat meat that often and find that I eat healthier when I eat vegetarian meals, especially when eating out. Which is why I love The Green Panther restaurant, right at the heart of downtown Montreal, because the menu is varied, delicious, affordable, and best of all, healthy! I also love the fact that they try to buy local and organic produce as a way to reduce their carbon footprint. They offer a small discount if you bring your own containers for take-outs.

Another unique point that I have to mention (that might seem minor to some of you) is that they have REALLY good falafels. I never really liked falafels until I visited Israel when I was 16 years old, and I got to see what they were actually supposed to taste like. So delicious!! The stuff I had tasted in restaurants here have never lived up to what I tasted in Israel, until I went to Green Panther. Although they need to improve their sandwich-making skills (all the condiments sit on top of the sandwich so halfway through, you are left with just falafels – condiments and especially the tahini sauce should be distributed evenly throughout the sandwich. Yes, this is very important, which is why I just wrote a paragraph about the right way to ‘build a sandwich’), these falafels are definitely worth the trip.

The menu offers many sandwiches, burgers, a few salad options, delicious soups (I’ve had the carrot soup and it was AMAZING). I usually opt for the half-sandwich served with 3 or 4 different kinds of salads. They aren’t just plain salads but quinoa salads, sweet potatoes, beets – and they’re absolutely delicious and full of flavor. They also have smoothies and desserts, but I haven’t gotten around to trying them just yet.

The service is not outstanding, but not bad – you order at the counter when you walk in and pay immediately and then wait at your table. They call your name when it’s ready and you go back to the counter and pick it up. The ambiance is very relaxed. There’s even a little ‘alcove’ area where you can comfortably sit without your shoes.

I really recommend this restaurant for good vegetarian food and a relaxed vibe. 

The Green Panther (Downtown location)

2153 Mackay Street

(514) 903.4744

Monday – Friday: 11:00 a.m. – 10:00 p.m.

Saturday: 11:00 a.m. – 9:00 p.m.

Sunday: 11:00 a.m. – 7:00 p.m.

ImageImage

 

{ The half sandwich and salad combo }Image

ImageImage

{ Delicious falafel ! } 

 

Leave a comment